Chiefs, Bucs and Downs’ MTN8 opponents revealed

SuperSport United MTN8 champions

The Premiership’s top three finishers Mamelodi Sundowns, Orlando Pirates and Kaizer Chiefs will face AmaZulu, Golden Arrows and Free State Stars respectively in next season’s MTN8 quarter-finals.

With a long PSL campaign coming to end this past weekend, Sundowns were crowned champions, whilst Pirates were comfortable in securing a second-placed finish.

Meanwhile, the Glamour Boys hit a good patch of form under interim coach Patrick Mabedi to finish third with a 2-1 victory over Ajax Cape Town, who claimed a relegation/promotion playoff position.

The results sees Chiefs qualifying for the CAF Confederations Cup in 2018/19, and ended what was a challenging campaign on a high for Amakhosi.

In the other quarter-final clash where fourth plays fifth, Maritzburg United take on Cape Town City in what could be an interesting tie given the impressive form of both teams.

The rules of the lucrative MTN8 competition are such that the top four teams in the league are awarded home advantage in the last-eight, before the semi-finals are played over two legs.

R8million is up for grabs for the champions of the tournament which last season was won by SuperSport United.