Soccer Betting News - SA's Leading Soccer Betting Newspaper: Baxter names final AFCON squad

Baxter names final AFCON squad

Bafana Bafana coach Stuart Baxter

Bafana Bafana coach Stuart Baxter has unveiled his 23-man Africa Cup of Nations finals squad.

Bet Now on Soccer

Baxter initially named a 28-man provisional squad for a training camp in Johannesburg. Two players were withdrawn from that squad. Montpellier midfielder Keagan Dolly suffered an injury, while Mamelodi Sundowns defender Rivaldo Coetzee failed to report for camp after being allowed to go home to visit his sick mother.

Further to that Ben Motshwari, Fortune Makaringe and Kermit Erasmus have been trimmed from the squad, with CAF rules stipulating that 23 players must be selected for the continental showpiece to kick off on 21 June in Egypt.

Absa Premiership Player of the Season and Players' Player of the Season Thembinkosi Lorch is in line for his first Bafana cap, while Darren Keet, Ronwen Williams and Bruce Bvuma have been named as the three goalkeepers.

Bafana will prepare for the tournament in Dubai where they will face Ghana in warm-up fixture on June 15 before flying to Cairo ahead of their opener against Ivory Coast on June 24.

Bafana's full AFCON squad:

Goalkeepers: Darren Keet, Ronwen Williams, Bruce Bvuma

Defenders: Thulani Hlatshwayo, Buhle Mkhwanazi, Sifiso Hlanti, Thamsanqa Mkhize, Ramahlwe Mphahlele, Innocent Maela, Daniel Cardoso.

Midfielders: Bongani Zungu, Kamohelo Mokotjo, Dean Furman, Hlompho Kekana, Tiyani Mabunda, Thulani Serero, Thembinkosi Lorch, Lebogang Maboe, Themba Zwane.

Forwards: Percy Tau, Lebo Mothiba, Sibusiso Vilakazi, Lars Veldwijk.

Register now and start betting with Hollywoodbets today!